EASST2018: Meetings - Making Science, Technology and Society together

25-28th July 2018, Lancaster University, UK

The 2018 EASST conference will take place at Lancaster University, which is set in 560 acres of beautiful parkland and lies approximately three miles south of the City of Lancaster. The campus is easily accessible via road, rail and bicycle. There is a direct train service from Manchester’s International Airport. You can read more about the hosts, the Lancaster Centre for Science Studies (CSS), here.

Registration is now open

You may now register to attend the conference. The Call for Papers has closed and the process of paper reallocation process is ongoing. However the conference timetable has been posted, and full details of registration are now online.


 EASST is offering a limited number of fee waivers for students and early career researchers who are members of EASST and who are presenting at the conference. Read more. Deadline 3rd May.


You do NOT need to be a current member of EASST to participate in the conference, although membership brings a discounted registration fee and membership is encouraged. To join EASST visit their website

Pre-conference Doctoral Workshop: Invent your job

We invite early stage researchers – graduate, postgraduate, and early-career scholars – to apply to our workshop immediately prior to the EASST conference in Lancaster. Read more…

Local organising committee

  • Brian Bloomfield (Centre for Science Studies/ Department for Organization, Work and Technology)
  • Dawn Goodwin (Centre for Science Studies/Division of Medicine) (Co-chair of Programme Committee)
  • Adrian Mackenzie (Centre for Science Studies/Department of Sociology/Data Science Institute)
  • Nils Markusson (Lancaster Environment Centre)
  • Maggie Mort (Centre for Science Studies/Department of Sociology)
  • Celia Roberts (Centre for Science Studies/Centre for Gender and Women’s Studies/Department of Sociology)
  • Vicky Singleton (Centre for Science Studies/Centre for Gender and Women’s Studies/Department of Sociology) (Co-chair)
  • Lucy Suchman (Centre for Science Studies/Centre for Gender and Women’s Studies/Department of Sociology)
  • Bron Szerszynski (Centre for the Study of Environmental Change /Department of Sociology)
  • Richard Tutton (Centre for Science Studies/Department of Sociology/Institute for Social Futures) (Co-chair)
  • Gordon Walker (Lancaster Environment Centre/ESRC DEMAND) (Co-chair of Programme Committee)
  • Claire Waterton (Centre for the Study of Environmental Change/Department of Sociology)
  • Lisa Wood (Centre for Science Studies/Division of Medicine)



Key dates

  • 08/11/2017: Deadline for panel (and workshop) proposals
  • 14/12/2017: Communication of accepted panels, opening of CFP
  • 14/02/2018: Deadline for individual paper abstract submissions (end of CFP)
  • 20/03/2018: Accepted papers published on the website and registration opens
  • 16/05/2018: Early-bird registration ends – prices rise!
  • 25/06/2018: Publication of conference programme



Powered by Khore by Showthemes